LR Film Fest: Golden Rock Narrative Award

short-term-12-brie-larson-sliceShort Term 12, Destin Daniel Crettin’s film which opened the Little Rock Film Festival, captured the Golden Rock Narrative Award. Set in a foster-care facility, it explores the lives of some of the kids as well as the supervisors as they wrestle (often with honest humor) with life.

The film features Brie Larson, John Gallagher Jr., Kaitlyn Dever, Keith Stanfield, Stephanie Beatriz, Rami Malek, Alex Calloway, Kevin Hernandez, Lydia Du Veaux, Frantz Turner, Diana Maria Riva, Harold Cannon, Silvia Curiel, Bran’dee D’Allen and Melora Walters.  Crtittin both wrote and directed the film.  Brett Pawlak is the cinematographer, Nat Sanders the film editor and Joel P. West composed the score.

Short Term 12 has won awards at several other festivals.  Cinedigm has announced plans to release the film later in the summer.

The other nominees were David Riker’s The Girl, Josh Barrett and Marc Menchaca’s This Is Where We Live, Daniel Patrick Carbone’s Hide Your Smiling Faces and Barmak Akram’s Wajma—An Afghan Love Story.