ArtWorks returns to Arkansas Rep tonight

Arkansas Repertory Theatre will host its 31st annual ArtWorks auction on May 11 featuring artwork by local artists under age 40. The fundraiser also includes live music, an open bar and appetizers from local eateries.

Doors open at 6 p.m. with the live auction starting at 7 p.m. Tickets are $50 and may be purchased at, by calling the Box Office at (501) 378-0405 or at the door. To go along with the ‘under 40’ theme, attendees under age 40 can purchase tickets for $40.

“ArtWorks is always a really fun night that brings art enthusiasts together. This year, we are so excited to partner with these tremendously talented local artists – all who are under age 40,” said Susan Nichols, ArtWorks Coordinator. “We’re grateful for their donations and support of The Rep.”

This is the first major Rep fundraising event since the theatre began its 2019 “Rebuild the Rep” Season.

Special guest emcees will help present each piece of art. They include: Billy St. James (102.5 FM), Wess Moore (Fox 16), Donna Terrell (Fox 16), James Bobo (Rep board member) and Lance Restum (Arkansas Travelers).

Local eateries providing food and drinks include: Three Fold Noodles and Dumpling Co., Capers, Copper Grill, Golden Eagle of Arkansas, Allsopp & Chapple and Atlas Bar.

The artists with work up for auction include: Joshua Asante, Matt Bates, Trevor Bennett, Rhett Brinkley, Justin Bryant, Heather Canterbury, Matthew Castellano, Krystal Cornelius, Meagan E. Davis, Margo Duvall, John Funderburg, Robert Hinojosa, Jon Hodges, Phillip Rex Huddleston, Bethany Johnson, Layet Johnson, Kesha Lagniappe, Jack Lloyd, Rayna Mackey, Haley Naylor, Claire Nichols, Brandy Thomason McNair, Emily Parker, Jennifer Perren, Emma Presley, Adrian Quintanar, Haynes Riley, Nathaniel Roe, Lily Ryall, Sulac, Chris Swasta, Louis Watts, Eleanor Wheeler, DeQuan Fidel Whitley, Brian Wolf, Emily Moll Wood, Markeith Woods and Rachel Worthen.

§  Doors open at 6 p.m.; Live auction starts at 7 p.m.

§  Tickets are $50 ($40 for those under age 40) at the door, or (501) 378-0405

The 2016 Arkansas Arts Council “Works on Paper” artists announced

Arkansas_Arts_Council_logo_2The Arkansas Arts Council recently announced the 37 Arkansas artists who were selected for the 2016 Small Works on Paper touring exhibition.

Now in its 29th year, Small Works on Paper is a juried visual art exhibition that showcases artwork no larger than 18 x 24 inches by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online gallery showcasing the artwork of Arkansas artists.

Forty works are featured in the show that will travel to 10 galleries throughout the state in a yearlong show. The exhibition will make its first stop Jan. 5-29 at the Batesville Area Arts Council’s Gallery on Main on 226 E. Main St.

The entries were juried by Kati Toivanen, professor at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Ten artists were selected by Toivanen to receive purchase awards. Purchase award winners receive the cash amount equivalent to the value of their selected works. Funded by entry fees, the purchase award pieces become part of the exhibition’s permanent collection.

The artists selected to receive purchase awards are Kathy Attwood of Eureka Springs; Margo Duvall, Amy Edgington and Robert Reep, all of Little Rock; Clarke Galusha of Norphlet; Matt Kaye of Camden; Penny Jo Pausch of Jonesboro; David Rackley and Rachel Trusty of Russellville; and Steven Vickers of Van Buren.

The complete list of artists is below.

  • John W. Ahlen, Little Rock
  • Joshua Asante, Little Rock
  • Kathy Attwood, Eureka Springs
  • Sandy Barksdale, Cotter
  • James Berg, Hot Springs
  • Susan Chambers, Little Rock
  • Melissa Cowper-Smith, Morrilton
  • Warren Criswell, Benton
  • Margo Duvall, Little Rock
  • Amy R. Edgington, Little Rock
  • L.S. Eldridge, Rogers
  • Thad Flenniken, Royal
  • Janet Gade-Malone, Hot Springs
  • Clarke Galusha, Norphlet
  • Angela Greene, North Little Rock
  • Lori Halley, Springdale
  • Gwen Haverland, Van Buren
  • Matt Kaye, Camden
  • Kimberly Kwee, Little Rock
  • Tim LaTourette, Fayetteville
  • Brian Madden, Little Rock
  • Jason McCann, Maumelle
  • Kasten McClellan Searles, Little Rock
  • Stephanie McLeod, Springdale
  • Robin Miller-Bookhout, North Little Rock
  • Penny Jo Pausch, Jonesboro
  • Laura Raborn, Little Rock
  • David Rackley, Russellville
  • Robert Reep, Little Rock
  • Sabine Schmidt, Fayetteville
  • Cathryn H. Slater, Little Rock
  • Stacy Spangler, Little Rock
  • Tod Swiecichowski, Little Rock
  • Rachel Trusty, Little Rock
  • Steven G. Vickers, Van Buren
  • John Watson, North Little Rock
  • Judy Wright Walter, Texarkana

The Arkansas Arts Council is an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.