Arkansas Preservation Awards tonight

No photo description available.

The Arkansas Preservation Awards will honor outstanding achievements in historic preservation from all over the state, including this year’s recipients of the Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement, Hot Springs architects Anthony Taylor and Bob Kempkes.

The awards are presented by Preserve Arkansas. Rex Nelson will be the emcee for the awards. The evening will begin with a reception at 5:30pm at the Albert Pike Masonic Center.

Anthony Taylor and Bob Kempkes founded Taylor/Kempkes Architects, P.A. in Hot Springs in 1986. Over the years, Taylor and Kempkes have demonstrated a strong commitment to the preservation of our state’s built environment and the revitalization of downtown Hot Springs. Their notable Hot Springs projects include the restoration and/or rehabilitation of the Mountain Valley Spring Company Building, Old Post Office, Quapaw Bathhouse, and the Thompson Building.

Other award recipients are:

Excellence in Heritage Preservation – Ginger Sandy – “Cedar Grove/Mobley Historical Preservation” Facebook page

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation
– Des Arc Public Library (Historic First Presbyterian Church), Des Arc
– Griffin Auto Company Building, El Dorado
– ScholarMade Achievement Place, Ivy Hill Academy of Scholarship (Historic James Mitchell School), Little Rock

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration
– Brunson House, Historic Washington State Park
– Methodist Manse, Cane Hill
– Shiloh Meeting Hall, Springdale

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education – University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design, Department of Landscape Architecture for “Rising Above – Rohwer Reconstructed: Interpreting Place through Experience” website

Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy – U.S. Congressman Bruce Westerman, Representing Arkansas’s 4th District, for his efforts to save the Federal Historic Tax Credit during tax reform

Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication – University of Arkansas Press for “It’s All Done Gone”: Arkansas Photographs from the Farm Security Administration Collection, 1935-1943 by Patsy G. Watkins

Excellence in Personal Projects

  • Commercial: Mary Ann Lee, Indigo Blue Coffeehouse, Pine Bluff
  • Residential: Greg Gallagher, 1919 Beech Street, Texarkana
  • Honorable Mention: Cecil and Denise Ennett, Kleinschmidt House, Little Rock


Arkansas Preservation Awards tomorrow night

The Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas will present the Arkansas Preservation Awards tomorrow night (January 11) in a ceremony at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion.

The annual Arkansas Preservation Awards recognize preservation efforts across the state over the past year. These achievements range from outstanding examples of rehabilitated structures, revitalized neighborhoods and commercial districts, and lifetime achievement in Arkansas preservation.

Among the award recipients are Bill Worthen, who will received the The Parker Westbrook Award.  That award recognizes significant individual achievement in historic preservation. It is the Alliance’s only award for achievement in preservation over a period of years. The award may be presented to an individual, organiza­tion, business, or public agency whose activity may be of local, statewide, or regional importance.  Worthen recently started his 41st year as director of Historic Arkansas Museum.  Outside of the museum, he has been engaged in many historic preservation efforts.

The award is named for longtime Arkansas historian and historic preservation advocate.  Previous recipients have been Bobby Roberts of the Central Arkansas Library System; Theodosia Murphy Nolan of El Dorado; Marty and Elise Roenigk of Eureka Springs; Bobbie Heffington, formerly deputy director of the Department of Arkansas Heritage; Little Rock Mayor Mark Stodola; and Courtney Crouch Jr. of Hot Springs.

The Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas has been a statewide voice for preservation in Arkansas for over thirty years. The Alliance is the only statewide nonprofit organization focused on preserving Arkansas’s architectural and cultural resources.

Founded in 1981, the Alliance’s mission is to educate, advocate and assist preservation efforts across the state, through educational programs centered on architectural heritage, advocating for preservation legislation, and assisting owners of historic properties with the means and expertise to preserve and restore historic structures.

Tickets for the event can be purchased at the Alliance’s website.