The Hall is alive with THE SOUND OF MUSIC – (Robinson Center Performance Hall, that is)

A brand new production of THE SOUND OF MUSIC is currently on tour across North America! The spirited, romantic and beloved musical story of Maria and the von Trapp Family  features music by Richard Rodgers, lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse, suggested by “The Trapp Family Singers” by Maria Augusta Trapp.

Performances are this weekend at Robinson Center Performance Hall.  The Sound of Music is brought to Little Rock by Celebrity Attractions.  Show times are Friday, May 24 at 7:30pm, Saturday, May 25 at 2pm, Saturday, May 25 at 7:30pm, and Sunday, May 26 at 2pm.

The cast includes Jill-Christine Wiley (as Maria), Mike McLean (as the Captain), Amelija Hill, Hunter Brown, Lauren Kidwell, Jake Mills, Lauren O’Brien, Kate Turner, Ethan Douglas Cutillo, Riley O’Kane, Jenna Seasholtz, Emily Strugatsky, Quinn Titcomb, and Edward Turner.

The creative team includes Matt Lenz (tour director), Jonathan Warren (tour choreographer), Douglas W. Schmidt (scenic design), Jane Greenwood (costume design), Natasha Katz (lighting design), Shannon Slaton (sound design), and Michael GIlden (music director/conductor). The tour is based on a 2015 tour which featured direction by Jack O’Brien and choreography by Danny Mefford.

Arts & Humanities Month: SHREK

Celebrity Attractions brings the national tour of Shrek to Robinson Center Music Hall.  The production opened its Little Rock stand last night and continues through Sunday evening.  Originally directed on Broadway by Arkansan Jason Moore, Shrek features a book and lyrics by Pulitzer Prize winner David Lindsay-Abaire and music by Jeanine Tesori.

The musical is based on the Oscar-winning DreamWorks film. It tales the story of an ogre, a princess, a talkative donkey, a vertically-challenged prince, and many other fun, lovable characters from fairy tales and nursery rhymes.

The national tour is directed by Stephen Sposito and choreographed by Chris Bailey.  The design team includes Tim Hatley (costumes and original scenic design), James Kronzer (tour scenic design), Paul Miller (lighting) and Shannon Slaton (sound).  The cast is led by Lukas Poost as Shrek, Liz Shivener as Princess Fiona, Andre Jordan as Donkey and Merritt David Janes as Lord Farquaad.