THE WITTENBERG HERITAGE focus of Architecture & Design Network discussion this evening at 6pm at Arkansas Arts Center

wittenberg-heritageIn 1919, young architects George Wittenberg and Lawson Delony co-founded the firm that would become, under the visionary leadership of George’s son Gordon, one of the largest, longest-lasting and most influential architectural firms in the state. During his thirty-year tenure (1952-1982) as head of Wittenberg Delony & Davidson Architects, the company had a significant role in the design of many city landmarks, winning more than thirty awards for its work. The Arkansas Chapter of the American Institute of Architects awarded its most prestigious prize, the Gold Medal, to Gordon Wittenberg in recognition of his many contributions to the profession. In view of his outstanding contributions to the field, he was elected a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, an honor accorded a select few.

This evening (February 23) the Architecture and Design Network will feature Gordon Wittenberg in a program entitled THE WITTENBERG HERITAGE.  It begins at 6pm at the Arkansas Arts Center with a reception at 5:30pm preceding it.

Wittenberg will be joined by his colleagues in reflection on the firm’s nearly one hundred year history, a heritage that shaped spaces and places throughout the state and beyond. THE WITTENBERG HERITAGE a group presentation, chaired by Gordon Ducksworth, AIA, Senior Associate/Project Architect, Wittenberg, Delony & Davidson Inc. Architects, Little Rock, AR. Like other Architecture and Design Network (ADN) lectures, THE WITTENBERG HERITAGE is free and open to the public. The Architecture and Design Network (ADN), a non-profit organization, is supported in part by the Arkansas Arts Center, the Central Arkansas Section of the Arkansas Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, the University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture and friends in the community.

Pulaski Heights Picassos

The Culture Vulture tries to steer clear of promoting fundraisers (because there are so many that every day could be a feature). But just as Picasso broke the rules of the art world, this entry breaks the rule. The reason? As a good friend says “It’s for the children.”

Pulaski Heights Picassos will take place tomorrow night (Saturday, March 3) at Ricks Armory from 6pm to 10pm.  It is a silent and live auction fundraiser for Pulaski Heights Elementary arts programs. The parents and teachers of Pulaski Heights Elementary School believe that the arts are an essential part of a well-rounded education and something that should be available to all students.

Picassos is the primary fundraiser used by the PTA to enhance the arts programs at PHE. Primarily Little Rock artists have donated all or a portion of their proceeds from the sale of the art for auction. More than 100 accomplished artists donated artwork and more than 400 pieces are available for sale.

The artist list includes:

Mary Stuart Arrington
Shelby Baker
Boots Barnett
Elizabeth Bates
Jessie Bates
Louis Beck
Bill Belew
Selma Blackburn
Kissy Blanchat
Mary Bowden
Arden Boyce
Janet Browne
Heather Burkett
Cathy Burns
Becca Carey
Theresa Cates
Ashley Chandler
Jeannie Clifton-Laster
Jane Colclasure
Susan Conley
Jenny Cooper
Morgan Covan
Mitchell Crisp
Cici Davidson
John Deering
Jerry Delavan
Char Demoro
George Dombek
Hamid Ebrahimifar
Gayle Ellis
Tanya Fitzgerald
Jim Flatt
Wayne Fowler
Jan Gartrell
Tracee Gentry
Dent Gitchel
Doug Gorrell
Jann Greenland
Austin Grimes
Amanda Haskins
James Hayes
Judy Henderson
Rita Henry
Lora Matthey Hicks
Ellen Hobgood
Gino Hollander
Patricia Holifield
Julie Holt
Joe Homan
John Honey
Judy Honey
Sandy Hubler
Tim Hursley
Donna Hutchinson
Lucy Inserra
Jim Johnson
Don Jordan
Annette Kagy
Carla Koen
Benjamin Krain
Nancy Kubler
John Kushmaul
Mindy Lacefield
Beth Lambert
David Land
Amy Laser
Ann Laser
Laura Laser
Kathy Lindsey
Missy Lipps
Erin Lorenzen
Ashley Lowry
Christa Masters
Jason Masters
Mark Matthews
Pat Matthews
Matt McLeod
Tonya McNair
William McNamara
Lauren Meredith
Barbara Middleton
Patricia Miller
Herb Monoson
Patty Monoson
Jean Moss
Leslie Nelson
Bob Ocken
Leah Pearson
Michael Peven
Dale Provost
Cherlyon Reid
Richard Reynolds
David Schonert
Darrell Loy Scott
Gary Scroggs
Thom Shock
Justin Slarks
Liz Smith
Teresa Smith
Bob Snider
Cindy Sorrells
Mary Ann Stafford
Babs Steward
Celia Storey
Susan Strauss
Kathy Strausse
Hank Tilbury
Ed Wade
Jeri Warlick
Michael Warrick
Lydia Washburn
Peggy Wenger
Julie West
George Wittenburg
Scotti Wilbourne
Renee Williams
Sherry Williamson
Debra Wolfe
Emily Wood
Melanie Young